Is it me? My failures moving inventory items in WAR

Ever since I started playing WAR in the open beta I’ve had more than a bit of trouble moving items around in my inventory and to/from inventory to my character “paper doll,” bank vault and mailbox.

It’s not that I can’t do it. I can. It just seems to take an inordinate amount of attention and careful mousing. 

In WOW, it looks like inventory items shrink down when being moved. Here I'm simulating the effect with a green rectangle.

WOW inventory icons seem to shrink when being moved (see green square).

In WOW, I’m constantly moving inventory items here and there with hardly a thought. In WAR, I often seem to not grab the item in the first place or end up dragging to not quite the slot I wanted.

One issue seems to be a small but noticeable lag whenever I click on things. That delay is just enough to mess with selecting and dropping inventory.

But I think I also noticed something else the other day. 

In WOW, when I select an inventory item, the icon I’m dragging seems noticeably smaller than it appears in a bag slot.  So when I move it to another bag slot, the “target” I’m trying to hit is bigger and easier to hit exactly with the smaller icon I’m moving.
In WAR, that doesn’t seem to happen. An inventory item’s icon seems to me to be the same size whether it’s in a bag slot or being moved.  So now the “target” I’m trying to hit is the same size as the icon I’m moving and being off just a hair may mean I’m starting to touch the next bag slot over instead and thus confusing WAR about which bag slot I was really aiming for.

In WAR, the inventory item seems to stay the same size when moving (see green square).

(I tried to grab screen shots of this difference, but screenshots from both WOW and WAR drop out the icon being moved. So I manually drew in green boxes to roughly simulate the difference.)

Of course, I could just be crazy. What do you think?

1 Response to “Is it me? My failures moving inventory items in WAR”


  1. 1 Jason October 8, 2008 at 3:56 pm

    Even on the rare occasion that I’m sober while I’m playing WAR, I’m having the same issues with the inventory and it’s pretty annoying.

    Jason (resident drunken idiot of Channel Massive)


Leave a Reply

Archives


